Hello there 🙂

My Chef is on a diet – Doctor’s orders. Well don’t get excited, it took him 3 months to “get around to it”. I’m pretty supportive, he is my husband after all. “through goodness and in health” and overlooking the fact that he’s becoming “fluffy”.. You tend to overlook it BECAUSE HE’S a CHEF.. So I ask myself, how supportive am I really? Doesn’t my “support” simply make me an enabler?

We’ve been discussing possibly having a vow renewal. Before you all start thinking “oh she must have said – you’re fat you should lose some weight” NOPE, that’s not what happened. After a doctor’s visit, knee surgery was discussed. Well if your Chef is anything like mine, you know that’s a big joke, who has time to schedule surgery aka time off. So once I began pushing about the vow renewal, it meant really scheduling time for surgery, so HE went to visit the surgeon.

Pretty much the conversation was “if you lose some weight, it will take the pressure (some) off your knees, we can (fill in blank) and buy you some time.. OK. so he decided this was the motivation.

However, that means I’m ON A DIET ALSO! Great for me because I too feel like i’ve been gaining. Owning a restaurant, we eat after service which is usually around 10:30pm. Not the best schedule. For the past two weeks, we’ve completely cut off the starch in our diet. No bread, pasta, rice, potatoes. No Fried Foods, pan seared is acceptable. Lastly, NO ALCOHOL. So you see that little smiley face after the “hello there” it really should be O_o

He’s been getting creative with our dinner – packed with protein and vegetables. Next battle would be the portion sizes, since my Chef is a Volume Eater..  After that, hopefully, find time to exercise. My Kitchen is made up of the two of us, we have no one else, so it’s difficult to allot “free time”.

How does your Chef handle his eating habits and/or dieting? If he is “fluffy” how do you handle conversations about weight? Would love to hear

Hugs

D

