Today we Catered another Veteran related Event. Today I met some amazing people. I know I use that word often but to me, it sums up who they are. Veterans choose to serve, leave their lives and their families behind, so that I can spend time with my family, build my life, experience joy.. They return broken and struggle to mend.. THEY ARE AMAZING!!!

*****

Working with the Veteran Community these past few years, I’ve been lucky enough to meet with various groups who help. One Program in particular is the Veterans Administration NYHHS Veterans Support Center Creative Arts Program. The last two years, I’ve seen the works and met the artists themselves.. The pieces are their hearts and souls on medium, whether it be canvas, photos, paper, craft…

*****

Just meeting them is an honor; taking the time to listen to them talk about their piece is a privilege. It must be difficult to get them to open up. With the guidance of Beryl Benner, this year the theme was “the Flag Under which I served”.

*****

The Flag under which I served

*****

Photography is My Therapy, so I truly appreciate this program. I’ve learnt over the years that listening is sometimes even better than saying “Thank you for serving”.. These Veterans need to know that THEY MATTER even if for just a moment in time. I am happy that I can be that person occasionally.

*****

I know this Blog was intended to be about our business, My Kitchen, but what is our business, if not a reflection on who Chef and I are..

So thank you for stopping by to read

Hugs

D

