Today we Catered a Luncheon Event hosted by the United War Veterans Council, titled – Salute to the Women who Served.
***
Being Humbled is NOT even putting it lightly. As a Civilian woman, I can’t even imagine the sacrifice these women make. Being present today, listening to the Speakers, I could only watch on in awe. Feeling proud to be a WOMAN. Feeling empowered to help others.
***
Salute to women who served
***
I listened to their stories. I loved that one woman stated “We are not victims. We just don’t know what was available to us” – They’re not looking for “handouts” or “sympathy”.. Simply looking to transition into Civilian Life whether it be school, family, workplace, life in general, including health issues be it physical and emotional.
***
One woman stated that a big pet peeve occured when she attended Veteran Events. Someone would ask “oh, are you married to Veteran” OR “are you the daughter of a Veteran” and all she would want to scream is “NO NO, I AM THE VETERAN” I am just as important and made similar sacrifices and suffered similar wounds. Ask me if I NEED Help. Thank ME for Serving……
***
That really got to my Core. It made so much sense and I have to agree. Today was an amazing day to be amongst such strong women and to watch and listen to others lending an ear and helping hand.
***
Chef and I are thankful for the opportunity to work with such wonderful people.
***
Thanks for stopping by
D

