Get your napkins handy.. I’m about to tell you how much I miss pumpkin picking and trick or treating with Chef Baby.. I used to carve pumpkins. Every year become more intricate. She loved them.. Watching your kids grow is difficult in itself, not having them around to do the things you enjoy just plain sucks.
The timing on the new business aka My Kitchen worked out perfectly, Chef Baby started college, gaining her independence.. BUT when times like these come around, I miss my little one..
***
So what do I do?? I carve pumpkins for work.. Buy myself a costume (I’m going to be Malificient) and hand out candy for Halloween. So there!!!
This year, my pumpkins were tough.. They were HARD! literally. Chef and I wondered if they were not ripened. It took me forever and I broke two of my tools. I literally hammered with a meat tenderizer and a knife.
***
Pumpkin Carving
***
Chef says he’s going to be a Chef, just not sure which one yet. HAHA!! He’s serious. I think he’s toying around with Mario Batali or Guy Fieri.. Really??? what kind of costume is that?? I know he also misses that time with her. Even though he didn’t actually go trick or treating with her (he worked), it was the build up to it. The purchasing of the costume, the carved pumpkin when he got home, the candy, watching his little Chef Baby get dressed up..
***
Restaurant life is difficult but we make it work. We all do.. It is our livelihood..
***
So come on by tomorrow. I do think that Chef and I will be cooking up a treat OR maybe a trick outside the store..

D

